Lapco  
Newcastle

Training Centres - Newcastle Training Programme in Association with Gateshead Colorectal Unit

This training centre has been led by the training centre clinical lead Mr Alan Horgan at Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust, and it has been managed by Lorraine Waugh through the Newcastle Surgical Training Centre (NSTC). It has been a centre that has hosted the provision of Lapco Cadaveric Courses for our registered trainees at the commencement and early stages of their training. There are 7 appointed NTP trainers that are allianced with this training centre from 3 separate hospital trusts, their contact details are provided below for reference:  

Name of Trainer Email Address  Trust

Mr Alan Horgan (LEAD)
Consultant

alan.horgan@nuth.nhs.uk

The Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust,The Freeman Hospital, High Heaton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE7 7DN

Mr Hugh Gallagher
Consultant
hugh.gallagher@nuth.nhs.uk

The Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust, The Freeman Hospital, High Heaton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE7 7DN

Mr Jon Hanson
Consultant
jon.hanson@nuth.nhs.uk

The Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust, The Freeman Hospital, High Heaton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE7 7DN

Mr Paul Hainsworth
Consultant
paul.hainsworth@nuth.nhs.uk

The Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust, The Freeman Hospital, High Heaton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE7 7DN

Mr Mark Katory
Consultant

mark.katory@ghnt.nhs.uk

Gateshead Health NHS Foundation Trust, Queen Elizabeth Hospital, Sherriff Hill, Gateshead, NE9 6SX

Mr Reza Kalbassi
Consultant
reza.kalbassi@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust, North Tyneside General Hospital, Rake Lane, North Shields, NE29 8NH
Mr Benjamin Box
Consultant
ben.box@northumbria-healthcare.nhs.uk Northumbria Healthcare NHS Trust, North Tyneside General Hospital, Rake Lane, North Shields, NE29 8NH

Mrs Lorraine Waugh
Newcastle Training
Centre Manager

lorraine.waugh@nuth.nhs.uk Newcastle Surgical Training Centre (NSTC), The Newcastle Upon Tyne Hospitals NHS Trust, The Freeman Hospital, High Heaton, Newcastle Upon Tyne, NE7 7DN
DL Tel: 0191 223 1264