Lapco  

Steering Group Meetings

The progress of the National Training Programme is reviewed on a regular basis by the Steering Group committee. The meetings are held on a quarterly basis, in rotation around the network of the 11 training centres in England or in alternative suitable meeting locations as appropriate. 

Minutes from Steering Group Meetings: ALL SG MINUTES

The Steering Group Terms of Reference are as follows: 

■       Agreeing the training methods

■      
Agreeing education materials and the operative techniques to be employed

■      
Agreeing development of course educational material (DVD and written material) with advice from clinical leads

■      
Agreeing design and implementation of a two/three day course for the multi- professional team

■      
Agreeing guidance as to what constitutes mandatory elements of training for  example cadaveric training and what should remain flexible for example the number of operations observed.

■      
Agreeing design and implementation of a multidisciplinary enhanced recovery training programme

■      
Overseeing the design and agree the mechanism to assess surgeons to undertake independent laparoscopic colorectal surgery

■      
Overseeing the progress of the programme to ensure it is delivered on time and within budget.
 
■       Develop methods to assess ‘Sign Off’ for completion of the National Training Programme, along with a follow up procedure post sign off. 

This Steering Group committee is comprised of representatives from:

Teresa moss

Department of Health National Cancer Action Team
Andy McMeeking
andy.mcmeeking@ncat.nhs.uk

 

 
Mark Coleman National Clinical Lead for the NTP
Mark Coleman MD FRCS
mcoleman1@nhs.net
Laura Stapleton National Training Programme Manager
Laura Langsford
laura.langsford@nhs.net
Clinical Leads from each of the Training Centres:
Alan Hogan Newcastle incorporating Gateshead Colorectal Unit
Alan Horgan, Consultant Surgeon
alan.horgan@nuth.nhs.uk
John Griffith Bradford
John Griffith, Consultant Surgeon
john.griffith@bradfordhospitals.nhs.uk
James Gunn Hull
James Gunn, Consultant Surgeon
james.gunn@hull.ac.uk
Charles Maxwell Nottingham
Charles Maxwell Armstrong, Consultant Surgeon
Charles.maxwell-armstrong@nuh.nhs.uk

Nottingham

Austin Acheson, Consultant Surgeon

Austin.Acheson@nottingham.ac.uk

Chris Cunningham Oxford
Chris Cunningham, Consultant Surgeon
Chris.cunningham@nhs.net
Robin Kennedy St Marks
Robin Kennedy, Consultant Surgeon
robin.kennedy@nwlh.nhs.uk 

 

Colchester
Roger Motson, Consultant Surgeon
Roger.motson@colchesterhospital.nhs.uk 

 

Guildford
Professor Tim Rockall
tim.rockall@btinternet.com

 

Vivek Datta Kings College/St Thomas'
Vivek Datta, Consultant Surgeon
Vivek.datta@gstt.nhs.uk

Vivek Datta

Portsmouth
Amjad Parvaiz, Consultant Surgeon
Amjad.parvaiz@porthops.nhs.uk

 

Tom Cecil Basingstoke/Frimley Park
Tom Cecil, Consultant Surgeon
tom.cecil@bnhft.nhs.uk
Nader Francis South West
Nader Francis, Consultant Surgeon
Nader.francis@ydh.nhs.uk
George Hanna Educational Lead
Professor George Hanna
Imperial College, London

 

g.hanna@imperial.ac.uk

 

 

 

North West

David Watson, Consultant Surgeon (Salford Royal)

David.watson@srft.nhs.uk

North West

Selva Sekar, Consultant Surgeon (Christie)

Chelliah.Selvasekar@christie.nhs.uk

  Other Stakeholders
This includes representatives from Wales (Jared Torkington) and Scotland (Ken Campell) who have attended the Steering Group meetings to monitor the set up and development of the NTP in England, we also welcome attendance from the Chair/Vice Chair of Association of Laparoscopic Surgery GBI (ALSGBI) and Association of Coloproctology GBI (ACPGBI).
 

 

Steering Group information section. Click here (password required)